Customer reviews for Philips Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop

Philips Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop

This Philips juicer extracts even more juice from your fruit and vegetables. Cleaning has never been easier thanks to the innovative quick-clean sieve and integrated pulp container. Treat yourself with the joy of healthy homemade juice!
Overall rating:
2.988 / 5
3
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
35
40 out of 7851%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Review 1 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I work for philips.......Generally a great product , few things that do not deliver 'Sense & simplicity'

Posted16 September 2011
Overall this is awesome, the performance is quite amazing. A couple of things I've noticed in the 2 weeks I have had it:
- Clearly it is a large product but the design does not make any allowances for this, Im sure there could have been ingenious solutions to make it 'pack' smaller when not in use
- The locking arm, not that easy to click in (for wife), and also, it makes the product even larger as it cannot be pushed up against a wall surface
- Bit dubious of the big clean in less than a minute claims. Yes it comes apart etc, and is 'rinse clean' but really, it takes much more than that to properly clean it from all the extracted bits, especially from the filter...yes its easy, but fear we are overselling this element
- The juice spoout is not as ingenious as it appears.....even in the off position it usually drips.
Again - A GREAT product, just a few refinements that could be looked at for this price!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Engine Smells/broke 3 times in one month

Posted8 November 2014
I bought this product at argos, and while I love it when it works... Argos have had to replace it for me 3 times in under a month... I've followed the instructions diligently so I am sure it is not my fault. Can you please recommend another Philips juicer with similar features (speed/quality of juicy/capacity/easy to clean) that doesn't have such a tendency to break? I have other Philips appliances and never once had a problem, which is why I chose philips for my juicer, but my experience with this product really makes me question the quality of the brand. Philips really need to figure out how to fix this engine issue as the rest of the product is fantastic and it is a shame that it breaks down so fast!
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare12 November 2014
We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience. Thank you.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

engine burnt out so quickly and easly

Posted20 October 2014
i'm very disappointed from that product as many costumers.it is unbelievable that such a brand as Philips to produce this juicer with high prise and without any quality.i lost my receipt and now my brand new juicer will go straight into the bin.
Prosdesign
Consdoes not work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Dundee, Dundee City, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing Performance

Posted6 January 2015
I bought this juicer in August and have only used it a dozen times. I loved the way it quickly turned fruit and veg into juice and also how easy it is to clean however, after New Year I decided to try a 3 day juice detox. Unfortunately by day 2 my juicer started to make a loud grinding noise and gave off a horrible burning smell. After switching it off it then wouldn't start again. I've spoken to someone at Philips and they are sending out a new one however after reading so many reviews complaining of the same problem I don't have much faith that this one is going to be any better.
Prosease of use, easy to clean, looks good
Consunreliable, short lived
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Dunfermline, Dunfermline, Fife, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HR1871 Burnt Out Motor

Posted27 September 2014
Got one of these from Currys and after about 1 month the motor burnt out....phew, we have insurance cover on it. Second one lasted about 2 months before the same......now the 3rd one has burnt out also. Its not getting overused and fruit rammed into it.....was an orange going through it and then smoke everywhere. Not wanting to get a fourth one.....going to look for an alternative brand.
Proseasy clean
Consmotors not up to standard required
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFPhilips Webcare29 September 2014
We would like to apologise for the fact that four of your HR1871 juicers have failed and appreciate you coming directly to us with your feedback.

We would really like to look into your experience further and will be in contact by email. Thank you for your help in advance.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:London, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 juicers burnt out within last 5 weeks! Unbelievable!!!

Posted27 September 2014
There is something seriously wrong with this model! Great design and year easy to clean but motor is rubbish!! I have 10 years of juicing experience and the last machine HR1861 was fantastic and so durable with the only problem of the mesh filter getting stuck after some time. The new model 1871 couldn't get through even carrots and apples! Very disappointed!!!
Prosdesign easy to clean
Consmotor!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFPhilips Webcare29 September 2014
We would like to apologise for the fact that three juicers have failed and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We would really like to look into your experience further and will be in contact by email. Thank you for your help in advance.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible, had to send 2 of them back as they stopped working after just a few weeks

Posted27 February 2015
Terrible product, and it would seem that the whole model has a problem with the engines if you check the reviews. We have had to send 2 new machines back after only a few weeks use.
Do not buy !
Consengine has serious problems
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebcare27 February 2015
Dear Chris,

We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience.

Thank you
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Wellingborough, Northamptonshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product is very poor performance motor burn twice in two months

Posted12 October 2014
use this product to have fresh juice but in just one month burning smell started and motor burned, go the replacement and just after another month 2nd replacement of 800W got burn now
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Bournemouth
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks nice on first impression

Posted2 September 2014
we used it about 10 times...then the motor burned out. I see this is a common problem and will not be buying this product again....Now I need to look into how I get a refund since the machine was bought on Amazon in may 2014...btw. Amazon says they have the product under review follwoing customer complaints....
Consmotor burns out
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare12 September 2014
We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience. Thank you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Birmingham, uk
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Burnt out!

Posted14 September 2013
Had it a couple of weeks and then suddenly smoke starts coming from it and it stops, never to work again! I've got a fridge full of fruit and veg, no impressed!
Prosno peeling
Consmotor burn out is a common problem
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy ABWebCare16 September 2013
We are disappointed to hear that your HR1871 juicer has stopped working. You have a two year warranty and we will be contacting you by email to assist you further.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Epsom, Surrey, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Excellent, but motor burns out

Posted14 March 2015
This is an excellent juicer, bought through Juicermaster, but the motor burns out all the time, this is my third one, and used according to instruction. Will not be replacing it as I have tried too many times. This last time it burnt out, it had only a pear in it, nothing else!!? Grrrrrr
Prosexcellent juicer
Consmotor burns out
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Northamptonshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Motor burn out

Posted8 March 2015
Excellent performance! ..until the electronic components burn out. I have now had to send 2 of these units back. Both times I was using the juicer as per instruction manual. They clearly have a bad batch of units or an internal electrical design defect.
I wish I read these reviews before going ahead with replacing the first unit.
I am now looking for a different model to a similar spec.
Prosexcellent performance, easy to clean
Consshort lived. motor burns out after a month
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Bridgwater, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Motor Burnt Out

Posted14 September 2014
After years of using a masticating juicer I was persuaded by Friends of the convenience of the centrifugal method so four weeks ago when my masticating juicer failed after 10 years, I bought my first Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W, I have since exchanged 3 units and my forth has just gone.
The star ratings are skewed because people are stating that it is a good design and easy to use. How can this be a good design if the motor fails within a few days, and if the motor keeps failing it is not easy to use as it is not functioning.
Prosnone
Consmotor
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFPhilips Webcare29 September 2014
We are really disappointed to learn of your experience and the fact that you have had 4 faulty units.

We appreciate your feedback and would very much like to look into this further to gain insight into the issues you have experienced.

We will be in contact by email. Thank you for your help in advance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:North Yorkshire
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not recommend this to anyone

Posted3 September 2014
Been juicing for a long time now and decide to treat ourselves to a better machine. Bought on the 16th August thought this was an excellent buy but then the motor burnt out on the 20th August! Fortunately Argos exchanged the same day so ok thought this was just bad luck. Then on the 30th August the motor on the replacement burnt out, I then read the customer reviews on Phillips own website and found that this is a very common complaint about this model, would not buy Phillips again ever.
Prosvery easy to use and. lean
Consmotor burns out in days
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare12 September 2014
We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Cardiff, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had two in two weeks - both burnt out!

Posted26 January 2014
This product is great to use, easy to keep clean and makes juice from pretty much everything. However - after 1 week of using twice a day, smoke started coming from the motor and a horrendous burning smell came out of it. We returned it to the store we had bought it and had a replacement and exactly a week later the same thing happened. We followed the instructions provided so would suggest this is a manufacturing issue...
Proseasy to use
Conslasts a week
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy ABWebCare31 January 2014
We are extremely disappointed to learn about your experience. We treat feedback of this nature with the upmost importance and will be emailing you to assist you further. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Berkshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST juicer I have ever used: easy to use, clean and efficient.

Posted23 May 2013
I have previously used juicers where the pulp that is left after juicing is still wet - indicating to me that there is still juice in it. However, the pulp that remains with this machine is completely dry, every bit of juice having been squeezed out.
I love using it as it's easy to clean afterwards too.
Proseasy to use, easy to clean, exceptional juice extraction
Consi needed to put mine on a non-slip mat as it moved
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:London
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good until the motor burnt

Posted17 February 2016
I was recommended this by a friend who had done his research nevertheless before purchasing the juicer I read a couple of reviews, in summary the machine was good but some people had the same issue with the motor smoking.
A few months in I had the same issue. So my advise is to avoid this product.
I moved house and annoying lost my receipt in the process so the broken machine has been on my kitchen top accumulating dust. Now I can't even get my money back!
On the search now for a juicer which is more reliable!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Dorset, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but......

Posted26 November 2015
I bought this product as a replacement for the same model I had been using for the last 2 years. That one was fantastic until it died. The new one looks exactly the same but it doesn't perform as well. The juice isn't pure juice some how bits get through the filter. Sometimes Apple skin or spinach stalks get through into the juice. This never happened before. Cleaning is still easy with it although I don't really understand why the plunger has a line of holes at the bottom, this means that some of the pulp comes back up into the plunger. I know you can now unscrew the lid part of the plunger and rinse it, this just seems a pointless change. I have in the past recommended this product and a few friends bought it on my recommendation. I bought my original juicer because it was recommended by a friend - her original one is still going strong. I don't feel I would recommended it now in case they got one that was inferior like the new one I have. I would just add that I do use my juicer ever day.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:London, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

Posted1 October 2015
The juicer kept popping open any time I tried to juice kale, I cant imagine what would happen if I tried to juice a carrot
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
From:Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good but has motor issues

Posted5 January 2015
We use juicer every day and make a full jug every day and think it's great but we are now on our 3rd in 8 months all been replaced by argos no problem so just the inconvenience of taking it back but still has not put us off still would recommend maybe buy the extended warranty.
Proseasy to use, easy to clean
Consmotor seems to smoke then give up after a while
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>